Review: Tycoon

Review: TycoonTycoon by Katy Evans
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on June 20th 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 252
Goodreads
two-stars

FINAL DECISION:  I liked the premise of this story, but I ended up not liking the characters much.  Too much cheating and selfishness for me.

THE STORY: Bryn Kelly is desperate for money for her startup business.  So desperate she is willing to appeal to Aaric Christos — rich, handsome, a New York power player — and also the boy that wanted her in high school and Bryn rejected.  He’s a man who invests in what others believe is too risky, but he wants to know everything before he invests.  Thus starts a relationship that is part past, part present and all sex and romance.

OPINION:  I really like second chance at love stories and I wanted to like this one, but I ended up disappointed.  As the story starts out Aaric is about to propose to his girlfriend that he conveniently doesn’t love and has an open relationship with.  Knowing that he has someone in his life, Bryn pursues him anyway which didn’t make me like her much.  The story just seemed to snowball from there.  I tried to like the characters, but they seemed too selfish.  There are spoilers out there about what happens with the girlfriend and I can confirm that it was as terrible as others make it out to be.  Nothing is really resolved in this story as things are left hanging.  That bothered me and even more Aaric’s decision of “my happiness is more important than anything” really bugged me.  My suggestion would be “keep it in your pants for a while and be a man with responsibilities”.  (Especially since he is a repeat offender).

The last portion of the book really disappointed me because I had the feeling that the book was going in the right direction and I would have ended up liking it.  Instead, there were just too many things that triggered negative reactions for me.

WORTH MENTIONING:  There is a lot of disjointed storytelling techniques as the story jumps between characters and also time period.  I liked the method of writing most in this book.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  TYCOON is a standalone, but apparently there will be a second book with other characters from this book.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 2 stars.

 

two-stars

Blog Tour: Commander in Chief

Blog Tour: Commander in Chief

by Katy Evans
Commander in Chief by Katy
Evans

Series:
White House #2
Publication Date: January 5th, 2017
Genre: Contemporary Romance

 

 

Synopsis:
The sizzling second installment of the White House series,
by New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Katy Evans.
We fell in love during the campaign.
The stakes were high.
Reputations could have been ruined.
Scandal hovered over us like a cloud.
Now the man I love is the President of the United States
of America.
And its not my vote he is after.
He wants it all.
My heart. My body. My soul.
He wants me by his side.
In the White House.
Normalcy will be gone from my life, privacy forgotten.
I am only twenty three. I just wanted to play a part in
history. But it seems like history wasn’t done with me. The part where I lost
my heart to Matthew Hamilton? It was only the beginning…
Add to Goodreads: http://tinyurl.com/h5r4pur
Buy Links:
Mr. President, Book 1
About the Author:
Katy Evans is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street
Journal bestselling author. Her debut REAL shot to the top of the bestselling
lists in 2013 and since then 9 of her titles have been New York Times
bestsellers. Her books have been translated into nearly a dozen languages
across the world.
Connect with the Author:
Email: katyevansauthor@gmail.com
Twitter @authorkatyevans

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Review: Commander in Chief

Review: Commander in ChiefCommander in Chief (White House, #2) by Katy Evans
Series: White House Series #2
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on January 5th 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Goodreads
four-stars

“I don’t want to forget that for a little while, Matt Hamilton — forty-sixth president of the United States — was mine.”

FINAL DECISION:  I love Matt and Charlotte’s story which is incredibly romantic and at times feels like a political fairy tale but the story requires readers to read MR. PRESIDENT first. Necessary reading for those who read MR. PRESIDENT, this book concludes Matt and Charlotte’s story.

THE STORY:  This book begins two months after the events of MR. PRESIDENT.  Charlotte has tried to get over being in love with the President-Elect Matt Hamilton.  She knew when they began their affair that it would not last because Matt is dedicated to the well being of the country (one of the reasons she fell for him) and the assassination of his father has convinced him that he cannot have a relationship while being President.

Two months without Charlotte has made Matt realize that he cannot be without her.  At the same time, Charlotte knows that she doesn’t have the qualities needed in a First Lady.  But Matt is determined to convince her otherwise.

OPINION: I loved the first book in this series MR. PRESIDENT.  This book was not quite as good primarily because I liked the drama of Matt and Charlotte just falling in love.  In this book, the two of them have to decide what sacrifices they are willing to make to be together.

Both Charlotte and Matt have trepidation in actually committing to their relationship.  For Matt, it means possibly reliving the mistakes of his father who had been president himself, at times ignored his own family and ended up assassinated.  For Charlotte, it means being entirely visible to the public, her life and love open to the possible jackals waiting to attack.  She doesn’t know if she is strong enough to be the woman at Matt’s side.

This is the story of two people making their relationship work. There is never any real challenge to these two being in love and wanting to be together.  The question is a real one in the world — is love enough?

Honestly, however, this presidential romance is really more of a fairy tale. The politics, media and public is too accommodating and easy for the characters to navigate.  That doesn’t mean that I didn’t like the book, I certainly did.  But if you are looking at a realistic look at politics surrounding this couple, you won’t find it here.  Instead, this book is a romantic fairy tale.

The romance and fairy tale quality of this book is a good contrast to the current politics. I loved the intense and open romanticism of this book.  My only warning comment is that the book really requires the first book in the series (this is more like a part 2 rather than an independent book).

WORTH MENTIONING:  The one phrase I’m never going to be able to forget in this book is “big presidential c**k”.  That tells you want you need to know about the sensibilities of this book, you can make your own determination if this book is for you.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  COMMANDER IN CHIEF is the second book in the White House series.  This book continues the romance between Matt and Charlotte and is intended to be read after the first book.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 4 stars and 4.5 stars for both books together.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book in order to provide a review.  I was not required to write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

four-stars

Review: Mr. President

Review: Mr. PresidentMr. President (White House Series, #1) by Katy Evans
Series: White House Series #1
on October 31st 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 280
Goodreads
five-stars

“He’s as hot, smooth, and rich as a lava cake. And he makes politics thrilling.”

FINAL DECISION:  I loved this book and I can only hope that the next book will live up to the standard set here.  This book has all kinds of sexual and emotional tension with an incredibly sweet and romantic relationship.  A win for Hamilton!

THE STORY:  As a child, Charlotte Wells met the president and his son Matt Hamilton.  She promised Matt that if he ever ran for president, she would support him.  Now years after the assassination of his father, Matt has taken up the challenge to be the youngest man to ever be elected president.  Charlotte signs on to his campaign.  As the two spend time together, the attraction between them is obvious and forbidden.  Matt knows all to well the sacrifice that being the president means for a wife and family and has no intention of having either.  Rather Matt intends to dedicate himself to the American people.  Despite this, he can’t resist Charlotte even as they risk scandal for what they both know must be a temporary relationship.

OPINION:  I approached this book with a tremendous amount of dread.  After the miserable political season this year, the last thing I wanted was a political themed romance.  But this book surprised me and actually made me feel good about the possibilities of politics even if our current reality stinks.

I absolutely loved the story in this book.  Charlotte and Matt are so wonderful together.  Their romance is sweet and incredibly romantic while at the same time the two are hiding from the press. They know that their romance has an end date even as the two become more engrossed in one another.

Charlotte has had a crush on Matt for years.  When the two encounter one another again, the sparks fly between them.  She is a do-gooder who feels that she needs to dedicate herself to something.  That thing becomes the election of Matt Hamilton.  She believes in all his idealism and his reality.  I liked her because even though she is young at twenty-two, she is a hard worker and a realist about her relationship with Matt.

Matt Hamilton is just adorable (and gosh, I wish there was a real version of him running for president).  He is strong and dominant and funny and sweet.  He is completely dedicated to his run for president to fulfill his father’s legacy but he risks it all to be with Charlotte.  Even as his instincts and those around him keep warning him, he cannot help but fall for Charlotte.

What makes this book for me is how Charlotte and Matt develop a relationship even as they are determined to remember that their affair has an expiration date.  Matt takes incredible risks for Charlotte even as he claims that their relationship has to end.  Charlotte gives everything to Matt even as she knows that she could be the cause of his ruin.

The tension of these two obviously falling in love despite their best intentions not to made this book just sing for me.  The angst and the desperation of these two was beautiful especially when combined with the sweet situations they find themselves in.

This book is sexy but it was the emotional purity between Charlotte and Matt that made this book for me.

This book ends on a cliffhanger.  I’ve been burnt by multi-book relationship stories before but I hope that the next book in the series lives up to this one.

WORTH MENTIONING: This is part of a continuing series with these characters so their relationship is not resolved in this book.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  MR. PRESIDENT is the first book in the White House series.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 5 stars.

NOTE: I received  an ARC of this book in order to provide a review.  I was not required to write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

five-stars

Review: Ladies Man

Review: Ladies ManLadies Man (Manwhore, #3) by Katy Evans
Series: Manwhore #3
Published by KT Publishing LLC on April 26th 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 298
Goodreads
two-half-stars

“He’s infuriating. He’s annoying. He’s cocky. Selfish. Self-centered. Really, I don’t even know why we’re friends.”

FINAL DECISION:  I prefer my romances to be between the hero and heroine.  Here, the heroine was in a sexual relationship with another man that begins during the book and continues almost two-thirds of the way through. Then the resolution between the hero and heroine was incredibly rushed.  Disappointed.

THE STORY: Gina has been attracted to Tahoe for years.  Tahoe is definitely a manwhore with different women (sometimes more than one) just about every night.  Gina approaches Tahoe with the possibility of a one night stand but he turns her down.  Instead she finds another man.  While everything seems to be going well with her new boyfriend, Gina and Tahoe are learning to be friends.  Yet the attraction between the two doesn’t go away as these two hurt people find was of caring for one another without sex.

OPINION: I was extremely disappointed with this novella because it had such promise.  The story was angsty and I loved the relationship between Gina and Tahoe.

What I didn’t like was that despite the fact that they both are pretty messed up about relationships, the resolution was immediate and only took a few pages.  The vast majority of the book was Gina finding another man to have a relationship with, her attempts to make it work and then her moving on from that relationship. There were more sexual scenes with the other guy than the hero of the book.

About half way through the book, I was sure that the book was going to end on a cliffhanger as the first Manwhore book did because there was no way the story could be resolved in so few pages.  I was wrong because the story is complete here, but I was right that the story couldn’t properly be resolved in the pages left.

Too much of Tahoe’s history came out quickly and then was pushed aside rather as “solved” rather than properly dealt with.  I just didn’t buy the resolution to the story and it left a bad taste for me, ruining what might have been a great story.

I was utterly disappointed.

WORTH MENTIONING: Fans of the Manwhore series will get a treat with an update on Rachel and Saint.

CONNECTED BOOKS: LADIES MAN is the third book in the Manwhore series.  The book can be read as a standalone as it deals with a different couple than the other books in the series.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 2.5 stars.

two-half-stars

Review: Ms. Manwhore

Review: Ms. ManwhoreMs. Manwhore (Manwhore, #2.5) by Katy Evans
Series: Manwhore #2.5
Published by Pocket Star on October 5th 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 128
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Great Conclusion to the Manwhore Series

“I love single-Rachel. But she was never as happy as I am now.”

FINAL DECISION: This novella is really an extended epilogue to the series. I greatly appreciated the time to see Malcolm and Rachel happy. It gave me a better appreciation for the other two books in the series because I got to see this couple truly happy.

THE STORY: Rachel and Malcolm have weathered their storms together and now are moving toward marriage. Dealing with the announcements, the bachelor party, the wedding dress and all the other things that accompanying merging together two lives are things the two now have to deal with. Will Rachel have the wedding of her dreams with the man she loves?

OPINION: I greatly appreciate that the author wrote this novella. I love seeing the happy ending for couples and this novella allows the entire happy ending to play out in a satisfying way. In many ways, I liked these characters better here than in the two previous novels because in this novella they are genuinely happy and the only drama is from the normal wedding issues. After the drama and stress of the previous two novels, it was nice to see these two characters be happy. This novella is really for fans of the series since there is no storyline that needs resolving other than the marriage itself. For fans of the series, however, this is mandatory reading.

WORTH MENTIONING: There is a new romance in the air.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MS. MANWHORE is the third book in the Manwhore series. It concludes the story of Malcolm and Rachel. The romance is already concluded by the time this novella opens. This is a nice long epilogue to the series so readers should start with the first book.

STAR RATING: I give this novella 4.5 stars.

Save

four-half-stars

Review: Manwhore +1

Review: Manwhore +1Manwhore +1 (Manwhore, #2) by Katy Evans
Series: Manwhore #2
Published by Gallery Books on July 7th 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 336
Goodreads
four-stars

Finally a Resolution to the Story!

“I have never been so aware of how deep he’d let me in until I stood before him today, completely cast out of what had become my own personal paradise.”

THE STORY: This book continues the story of Rachel and Malcolm from the first book in the series. When this book opens, Rachel’s lies and betrayal of her relationship with Malcolm has been revealed. Rachel is a reporter who had been assigned a secret expose of Chicago’s manwhore bachelor. In the process of getting to know her subject, she ended up falling in love with him. Malcolm is a private man and Rachel’s betrayal hits him hard. The question that begins this book is whether Rachel can show Malcolm that what they had was real.

OPINION: I liked this book better than the first in the series. The story is more complex and Malcolm seemed more real. I think that that first person narrative makes it difficult to understand Malcolm as a character. Rachel views him in an idealistic way and that makes him seem like a idealized person rather than a real one. Here, Malcolm explains more of his thoughts which makes him more appealing. I also liked that Rachel’s issues are addressed more in this book. Her own fears are a great deal of the problem that this couple ends up having. I really liked her character’s decisions in this book. Instead of taking the easy way out, she fights for her relationship with Malcolm. Her feisty nature and determination are what made me like her more here than in the first book.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book is told in the first person so readers only get Rachel’s view of the story.

FINAL DECISION: I liked this book a bit more than the first in the series probably because of the resolution to the story. I also felt that Malcolm was better represented as a character in this book because he opens up to Rachel more.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MANWHORE +1 is the second book in the Manwhore series. This book really operates as a part two to the story and the first book should be read before this one.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

Save

four-stars

Review: Manwhore

Review: ManwhoreManwhore (Manwhore, #1) by Katy Evans
Series: Manwhore #1
on March 24, 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 369
Goodreads
four-stars

Ends on a Cliffhanger

“You go out searching for something and come back with something else.”

THE STORY: Rachel Livingston is a magazine writer who is given the assignment to get close to the billionaire bachelor Malcolm Saint and write an expose about him. This is the break that she wants in her career, but it requires her to lie about her intentions. What Rachel doesn’t expect is the manwhore she expects is actually a decent person who she begins to care about. What will happen when her true motivations become known?

OPINION: I thought this story was intense and complicated with Rachel lying throughout the relationship with Malcolm. Rachel’s growth to where she can admit that she was in the wrong is an emphasis in the book. One weak point of the book was that because it was told in the first person, readers only get Rachel’s perspective. She apparently doesn’t see anything negative about Malcolm because he seems pretty perfect in the book. As a result, Rachel’s own actions in lying seem more unreasonable and unforgivable. This book ends on a cliffhanger and thus what might ultimately happen between these two characters when they have honesty between them is still unknown.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book ends on a cliffhanger. There is no resolution so readers should be prepared to buy the next book in the series.

FINAL DECISION: I liked this book more than I expected. I recognized that the story was not complete and would be continued in the other books in the series, otherwise I might have been seriously annoyed with the ending.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MANWHORE is the first book in the Manwhore series.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

Save

four-stars