Review: Wild Embrace

Review: Wild EmbraceWild Embrace (Psy-Changeling, #15.5) by Nalini Singh
Series: , , ,
Published by Berkley on August 23rd 2016
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 400
Goodreads
four-half-stars

WILD EMBRACE consists of four novellas in the Psy-Changling series.  They vary in length and complexity and while none reach the quality of the awesome novels in the series, these novellas are a great introduction to the series or a wonderful chance for fans to revel in some secondary characters.  The events take place at various times in the Psy-Changling universe (although there is no reason to worry about the order unless you are hyper concerned about spoilers).

One of my favorite parts of reading a Nalini Singh series is that every portion, every moment, every characters feels exceedingly alive.  Singh proves it by regularly giving readers the additional content (much free to newsletter subscribers) that tells the stories of minor characters, gentle moments and funny slices of life.

In the novella ECHO OF SILENCE (which takes place after book 2 VISIONS OF HEAT), readers finally get the story of Stephen Berg, a Tk Psy and Tazia Nerif, the human woman with whom he falls in love.  Readers of the series might recall that subsequent to the events in this book, Stephen has been known to give romantic advice to Arrows.  This story takes place just as Silence is beginning to be challenged.  The romance is incredibly sweet and painful as the two are in danger if it is known that Stephen breaks Silence but he cannot love unless he does.  I thought this story was the best of the four (I love those Tks) as the story was complex and multilayered.

The short novella DORIAN (which takes place over a period of time ending after book 5 HOSTAGE TO PLEASURE) consists of vignettes in the life of Dorian.  Dorian is a leopard changeling who was latent and could not shift into his leopard form.  The vignettes start when Dorian is a child and take place at various times in Dorian’s life.  The final vignette happens after his mate is able to help him to successfully shift.  (We finally get to see other characters reactions to Dorian’s shift.  This novella adds some additional and welcome scenes to HOSTAGE TO PLEASURE.

In the novella PARTNERS IN PERSUASION (which takes place after book 11 TANGLE OF NEED), we get an unexpected pairing of a dominate female leopard changeling and a submissive male wolf changeling.  Felix is at his heart a gardener (aka the horticultural expert of the Snow Dancers) who has been hurt by his attraction to a dominate woman before.   Despite this, Felix is really, really attracted to Desiree.  I loved Felix who might be a submissive but is certainly no pushover and definitely proves that submissives can be dangerous when those they care about are threatened.  The careful navigation of Felix and Desiree’s relationship mirrors those which arose in DECLARATION OF COURTSHIP (which had a dominate male and submissive female changeling). Questions of consent and trust are artfully navigated here without the hero being a wimp.

The final novella, FLIRTATION OF FATE is the sometimes heartbreaking second chance at love story between Garnet (aka Jem) and Kenji, both Snow Dancer lieutenants.  The two grew up together and it seemed like they were fated to be together until Kenji broke Garnet’s heart on her twenty-first birthday by standing her up.  In the years since, the two have ignored one another and engaged in a combative flirtation.  The big question throughout this novella is why did Kenji break Garnet’s heart when he clearly loves her so much?  I had figured out the reason before the reveal but I loved how these two were unable to let one another go despite their best attempts.  I hope that we hear more about these two in the future because I would like to see that they have been able to work through their challenges. FLIRTATION OF FATE takes place at the end of HEART OF OBSIDIAN (book 12).

Overall Rating for book 4.5 stars.

 

four-half-stars

Archangel’s Heart Cover Reveal

by Nalini Singh
Genres: Paranormal

Simply gorgeous cover for the next book in the Guild Hunter series!  I’m especially excited that this book focuses again on Raphael and Elena.  How amazing does Elena look here?

Archangels Heart Cover

Archangel’s Heart is the 9th book in the

Guild Hunter

Archangel’s Heart releases November 1st!

Now Available for Pre-order HERE: http://bit.ly/28P4Qel

Add it to your TBR: http://bit.ly/GoodreadsArchangelsHeart

Blurb

One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.

Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…

Nothing will ever be the same again.

Author Information

nalini Singh

Nalini Singh is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling, Guild Hunter, and Rock Kiss series. She lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing.

If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts and free short stories on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. The Rock Kiss books are all stand alone and can be read in any order.

STALK HER:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Review: Allegiance of Honor

Review: Allegiance of HonorAllegiance of Honor (Psy-Changeling, #15) by Nalini Singh
Published by Berkley on June 14th 2016
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 496
Goodreads
five-stars

Must Read for Any Psy-Changling Fan

“The world has changed in countless ways since the day a cardinal empath sat across from a changeling alpha, the empath trying to hide her emotions, the alpha trying to see under her skin.”

FINAL DECISION:  The Psy-Changling book I will return to again and again, ALLEGIANCE OF HONOR not only is a window into the lives of the engrossing characters that Singh has created but also the book’s ensemble format itself demonstrates the themes of the bonds of love, friendship and respect that differing groups and people can build in order to create a better world.

THE STORY: ALLEGIANCE OF HONOR is a different book from the others in the Psy-Changling series and in paranormal romance in general. It does not have one central romance rather it is the last book in “Season 1” of the Psy-Changling series, an ensemble piece, which touches on almost all of the characters who appeared in the first 14 books of the series (and the novellas as well!).

The story picks up right after SHARDS OF HOPE.  Silence has fallen and the three powers in the world (Changling, Psy and Human) have joined forces in the Trinity accord. The alliances the various groups are fragile and there is a shadowy Consortium which is working against Trinity in order to advance its own interests.

Naya, the young daughter of Sasha and Lucas (from book 1 SLAVE TO SENSATION) is the first Psy-Changling child and has become the focus of those who want to defeat Trinity and keep the races separate.  Naya is a symbol that some look to as hope and some want to control or destroy.

OPINION:  A tapestry that depicts a wide swath of the Psy-Changling world, ALLEGIANCE OF HONOR is simply magnificent.  In a series which is founded upon crossing boundaries and making connections between disparate groups, this novel itself by its vignette nature demonstrates the power and beauty of the entirety of that interwoven world.  I love how the shifting points of view and small and big moments come together to provide the widest and most comprehensive view of the Psy-Changling world.

What I found incredibly powerful about this book is that Singh managed to take what might otherwise be merely an extended epilogue to the series without any other value other than good feelings and instead makes it a compelling conclusion to “part 1” of the Psy-Changling series and a kickoff to a whole new adventure.

Readers who had lingering questions about the series both big and small will get answers here and also get a good sense of where the series goes from here.  A pivot point in the series, it allows readers who have persevered through the prior fourteen books to get a conclusion while making it clear that there are new challenges and new characters ahead.

A reader could end their reading of the Psy-Changling series here (BUT WHY WOULD YOU?) and be completely fulfilled and satisfied because this book resolves almost everything central (and many tangential) to the main series.  There are lingering issues which will kick off the next part of the series but nothing that will haunt people for years.  This series is so incredible that there is no reason not to highly anticipate what will happen next. I can’t wait to see what Singh will do next in the Psy-Changling world.

There is something in this book for anyone who has read the series.  Stories of just about everyone are progressed demonstrating how fluid this world is. Intense joy, happiness and immense sadness are all present here.

If I have a suggestion for anyone getting ready to read this book — avoid spoilers.  Part of the beauty of this book is how the stories develop in somewhat unexpected ways.

I love this book and intend on reading it again soon — maybe today. Immensely fulfilling and I couldn’t imagine how it could have been better!

WORTH MENTIONING: Pupcubs!!!

CONNECTED BOOKS:  ALLEGIANCE OF HONOR is the fifteenth book in the Psy-Changling series.  Because this book assumes knowledge about the characters and events of the series, it should only be read after the other books.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 5 stars.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in order to provide a review.  I was not required to write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

five-stars

Review: Night Shift

Review: Night ShiftNight Shift (Kate Daniels, #6.5; SPI Files, # 0.5; Psy-Changeling, #12.5; Barbarian, #1) by Nalini Singh, Ilona Andrews, Lisa Shearin, Milla Vane
Series: Kate Daniels #6.5, SPI Files #0.5, Psy-Changeling #12.5, Barbarian #1
Published by Berkley on November 25th 2014
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 378
Goodreads
four-stars

Four Paranormal Novellas

NIGHT SHIFT consists of four paranormal novellas. Of the four authors, I had only read Singh before this collection. Overall rating: 4 stars.

SECRETS AT MIDNIGHT by Nalini Singh: Part of Singh’s Psy-Changeling series, this novella features Bastien Smith (Mercy’s brother). Bastien is a DarkRiver leopard and one day he scents his mate on the street of San Francisco. When he finally discovers who she is, he knows there is something different about her. Kirby is a schoolteacher who is alone in the world. The story has a twist that is different from other stories in this series. This story was great. Bastien was a great hero although I had less interest in Kirby as a person but her ultimate story was very interesting and added to the Psy-Changeling universe. Rating: 4.25 stars.

MAGIC STEALS by Ilona Andrews: This novella is part of a series that I have not read. That made no difference, however, because I found the story easy to follow, with interesting characters and a tight storyline. Dali is a weretiger who is involved with Jim Shrapshire who is a werejaguar. Dali feels that she is not a good match for Jim because Dali thinks herself as clumsy and not a strong fighter. Dali does good magic instead. I thought the story was really funny especially when Dali is attempting to hide Jim from her mother. I thought the story was interesting and I loved how Jim is clearly attached to Dali who doesn’t really believe in herself. This story intrigued me enough to want to read more of this series. Rating: 4 stars.

LUCKY CHARMS by Lisa Shearin: This is the story of Makenna Fraser who is a new employee for the SPI, Supernatural Protection Investigations. Makenna is a seer who can see the actual creature underlying any disguise. She is partnered with Ian Byrne who is the star of the company. On Makenna’s first day, she and Ian are in search of a quintet of leprechauns who have evaded their bodyguards. Their search takes them through strip clubs and a sex club. The story is all about the case and there was little character development or any relationship between the characters. I know that there are other books in this series, but this story was not enough to make me interested in reading more. Rating: 2 stars.

THE BEAST OF BLACKMOOR by Milla Vane: Kavik is known as the Beast of Blackmoor. His homeland has been taken over by an evil ruler and when he is refused his request by the goddess Vera, Kavik, who is fifteen, insults the goddess and finds himself given a curse instead. Years later he meets the woman who will be his downfall. Mala, High Daughter of the House of Krima is one of Vela’s chosen and on a quest of her own to save her own destroyed homeland. Her task: to tame the Beast of Blackmoor. I really liked this story. The hero is very dark and tortured but Mala’s persistence wins him over. Both of the characters are strong warriors and work well together as partners. The story is also very sexy especially for such a short novella. Rating: 4.25.

Save

four-stars

Review: Shards of Hope

Review: Shards of HopeShards of Hope (Psy-Changeling, #14) by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #14
Published by Berkley Hardcover on June 2nd 2015
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 483
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Brings All The Story Threads Together and Starts a New Chapter

THE STORY: Aden Kai and Zaira Neve are two Arrows who awake to find that they have been stripped of their psychic abilities. Forced to escape and rely on one another, they discover a new plot to take control by shattering the fragile peace that has arisen after the fall of silence. As head of the Arrows, Aden knows that he must show the Arrows that there is hope for the Arrows in a post-silence world. He believes that Zaira is the key for him. Zaira, however, knows that she cannot risk relinquishing silence lest she risk releasing the psychotic murderer that she knows is within her.

OPINION: Simply beautiful. SHARDS OF HOPE builds to its conclusion slowly and with such precision that by the time the conclusion arrives, it is clear that the entire book is the demonstration of what the solution to the problems must be. This book is a treat especially for fans of the series because there are so many significant cameos by favorite characters. Aden is a wonderful hero. He so clearly has loved Zaira for so long and he is such a caring individual that one cannot help but fall in love with him. Zaira is the tormented one here. Her past is horrific and she cannot imagine that she can possibly have a happy ending. This book, however, is really about hope and the big difference that one person can make in changing another’s view of themselves. This book is about the transmission of hope and the importance of individual action.

WORTH MENTIONING: Fans of the series will be especially pleased because there are numerous appearances by previous heroes and heroines who are important to the overall plot.

FINAL DECISION: This book feels like a homecoming with appearances by so many previous favorites. The romance between Aden and Zaira is at times dark and at times incredibly innocent. This was a great book for fans although I think that newcomers would be better starting with another book in the series.

CONNECTED BOOKS: SHARDS OF HOPE is the fourteenth book in the Psy-Changling series. This book feels like it needs to be read as part of the series because it wraps up the previous storyline and starts a new part of the overarching story.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4.5 stars.

Save

four-half-stars

Review: Shield of Winter

Review: Shield of WinterShield of Winter (Psy-Changeling, #13) by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #13
Published by Berkley Hardcover on June 3rd 2014
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 431
Goodreads
four-stars

Awaken the Empaths

“To be an Arrow is to be an island, devoid of attachments that create vulnerability.”

THE STORY: Vasic is an Arrow with the ability to teleport. He believes himself beyond Silence and irredeemable because of what he did to help preserve Silence. He knows he has not future…until he meets Ivy Jane. Ivy is a reconditioned empath who has lived her whole life believing that she is flawed. When the psy-net becomes more infected, the governing coalition realizes that empaths must be awakened to try to restore the psy-net to health. Ivy gives Vasic hope and the two begin a sweet romance.

OPINION: I loved how the darkness of the story and the sadness and pain of Vasic and Ivy’s past was paired with an almost sweet and gentle romance between the two. It was unexpected and gave lightness to a story that could have been dark. SHIELD OF WINTER continues to have much of the humor that is present in most of the Psy-Changeling novels. What was interesting to me is how normal the developing relationship between Vasic and Ivy felt even as they were involved in extraordinary events. That compelled me to keep reading to find out how things would be resolved.

WORTH MENTIONING: There were small scenes with Kaleb and Sahara from HEART OF OBSIDIAN and I really enjoyed seeing how they are dealing with their relationship and how Sahara is keeping Kaleb in line.

FINAL DECISION: I love Vasic and Ivy’s story. In the midst of darkness and death and potential calamity, I found their almost innocent love moving and sweet.

CONNECTED BOOKS: SHIELD OF WINTER is the thirteenth book in the Psy-Changeling series. Singh’s series creates a complicated and intricate world in her series and while this book can be read separate from the series, I think it is best appreciated as part of the collective. Each individual book builds on the world and its mythology so that the characters and events resonate more with the background knowledge of the prior books.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

Save

four-stars

Review: Heart of Obsidian

Review: Heart of ObsidianHeart of Obsidian (Psy-Changeling, #12) by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #12
Published by Berkley Sensation on June 4th 2013
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 360
Goodreads
five-stars

One of the Best of the Series

“To fight evil, you have to understand the dark.”

WARNING: This review contains spoilers that detract from the wonderful slow revelation of information that Singh has done in the novel. I would recommend reading this book and enjoying the journey. It is fabulous!

THE STORY: Kaleb Krychek is a Psy councilor, a cardinal Tk (Telekenetic) and perhaps the most powerful and dangerous man alive. Throughout the series, it has been unclear whether he is good and evil. Raised by a serial killer, at times helpful to those in need, no one knows what his motives are. For years, Kaleb has had only one motive: to find Sahara Nightstar who may be the only person more powerful than Kaleb and he believes that with her by his side, he will be able to take over the PsyNet. When he finds her, Sahara has been tortured and striped of her identity. This book is all about Kaleb’s motives, his history and his murky history with Sahara.

OPINION: HEART OF OBSIDIAN may be the best written and most complex of the Psy-Changeling novels. Singh keeps the motivations and history of Kaleb hidden for most of the book. Best of all, she doesn’t engage in revisionist history to make him a clearly heroic character. He remains as complex and a creature of the dark at the end as he is in the beginning. His love for Sahara is his redeeming trait and it is she who brings him into the light. I loved their story. For a story that so often strays into the dark, Singh has given them a past that is also sweet and beautiful. I loved every moment of this book. There are some books that end far too quickly — not because of a defect in the story but because the story is so compelling that the reader doesn’t want the book to end. HEART OF OBSIDIAN is one of those books. Having read it once, it is already in my favorites and I know I will revisit it again and again.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book reveals a tremendous amount about what was happening on in the previous novels that the reader was unaware of. I appreciated that Singh has in a way been writing this novel since SLAVE TO SENSATION.

FINAL DECISION: I absolutely loved this book. I am a fan of the dark, mysterious hero who may or may not actually be the villain. Beautifully written, the way the mysteries are revealed are compelling and keep the reader completely engaged.

CONNECTED BOOKS: HEART OF OBSIDIAN is the twelfth book in the Psy-Changeling series. This book finally brings to a close an overarching story that has been going on since the first book of the series. This book can be read independent of the other books of the series because the focus is so much on the couple but it is best appreciated as the culmination of the prior books.

STAR RATING: I give HEART OF OBSIDIAN 5 stars!

Save

five-stars

Review: Tangle of Need

Review: Tangle of NeedTangle of Need (Psy-Changeling, #11) by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #11
Published by Berkley on May 29th 2012
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 422
Goodreads
four-stars

Book of Transitions

TANGLE OF NEED is unlike any other book in the Psy-Changeling series. While there is a romance in this book between Adria and Riaz, it is also the book of the civil war amongst the Psy and also a continuation of the love story of Hawke and Sienna from KISS OF SNOW.

THE STORY: TANGLE OF NEED is the story of Adria, a wolf changeling who has left a relationship with a less dominant male that lasted a decade but ended in anger and resentment. She meets Riaz, a Snow Dancer lieutenant. While the two are attracted to one another, Riaz is rude and belligerent. He is unhappy about the attraction because he thinks it is a betrayal of he mating bond that he found with a woman but could not realize because she was already happily married to someone else. When the two agree to have a friends with benefits relationship they soon find out that feelings are very complicated. The secondary story is about Hawke and Sienna and there relationship finding its footing as the two approach their mating ceremony.

OPINION: This book for me felt like part two of KISS OF SNOW because the most interesting part was about Hawke and Sienna and the war between the Psy factions. While the romance between Riaz and Adria is billed as the top story, it felt like a secondary romance. I just found the other two stories much more compelling. I thought the twist on the romance between Riaz and Adria was interesting but it was just more interesting to read about the other events in the story.

WORTH MENTIONING: The final reveal in this book made reading the entire book worth it.

FINAL DECISION: I liked this book primarily because of the continuing storyline of Hawke and Sienna. The story of Adria and Riaz while interesting was not sufficient on its own to sustain the book.

CONNECTED BOOKS: TANGLE OF NEED is the eleventh book in the Psy-Changeling series. It is highly dependent upon the overarching storyline of the series. In many ways it feels like part two of KISS OF SNOW.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

Save

four-stars

Review: Kiss of Snow

Review: Kiss of SnowKiss of Snow (Psy-Changeling, #10) by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #10
Published by Berkley on May 31st 2011
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 433
Goodreads
five-stars

One of the Best of the Series

“You have the power to tear me to pieces, to wound me so deep and true that I’ll never recover.”

THE STORY: KISS OF SNOW continues Singh’s series about the world where humans, changelings (human animal shapeshifters) and Psy (those with psychic abilities) live. As readers of the series will recall, the Psy have been subject to Silence for 100 years. Silence was the stripping of all emotions from the Psy intended to protect them from the damaging effects of emotions. Now Silence is breaking down and there is a struggle for power between factions of the Psy and humans and changelings.

“Nothing about Sienna Lauren had ever been easy.”

Sienna Lauren is Psy. Her family defected to the SnowDancer changeling pack when Sienna was a teenager. Sienna is X-Psy which is a mysterious and rare designation. X-Psy means that Sienna is a living weapon. Most Psy of her designation do not live long and no one has lived longer than 25 years. Sienna is now nineteen and is a soldier for the SnowDancer Pack. Since their first meeting, she has known that she has wanted the Alpha of the SnowDancer Pack.

Hawke is the alpha wolf of the SnowDancer den. He is arrogant and protective and dominant. He has wanted Sienna since he first saw her, but he knows that he cannot do anything about it. He has believed her too young and also he knows that he cannot give her what she needs.

“Hawke’s mate is dead. He buried his heart with her.”

The wolf that Hawke knows would be his mate died as a child. Since wolves love only once, Hawke does not believe that his wolf will allow him to love Sienna in that way. Because he cares about her, he doesn’t want to hurt her. At the same time, Hawke cannot keep away from Sienna.

OPINION: This is the book that readers of the series have been looking forward to because Hawke and Sienna’s relationship has been hinted at in many of the books of the series. I loved the relationship between Hawke and Sienna. He wants her desperately but he cares too much about her to want to hurt her. At the same time, Sienna doesn’t want Hawke to dictate their relationship and demands to be treated as an equal. They are both strong, difficult people and they strike some serious sparks off of one another. Their story is intense and complex and I was enthralled the entire time. Entwined with the culmination of the overarching story of the impending attack on the changeling packs, Singh has created a story that is a suspense story but also a deeply moving romance. This is a story that I immediately wanted to reread. It was my favorite book since SLAVE TO SENSATION and is definitely on par with that story. I think the two can be read together as bookends to a portion of the Psy-Changeling story.

The book also has a sweet secondary romance between Lara, the SnowDancer healer and Walker Lauren, Sienna’s uncle. An addition to the story that doesn’t detract, the story is a sweet contrast to the more angst filled difficult romance between Hawke and Sienna.

WORTH MENTIONING: Fans of the series will be pleased to know that finally Sascha and Lucas’ child is born. Having both Alpha couples in this book was a treat.

FINAL DECISION: I loved this book. I consider it one of the best of the series. Action packed and emotional and written in a way that makes a reader want to keep turning pages, I highly recommend it.

CONNECTED BOOKS: KISS OF SNOW is the tenth book in the Psy-Changeling series. This book brings to a conclusion some of the stories that have been present in the series since the beginning. A reader could enjoy this book apart from the others in the series although I recommend starting at the beginning. Hawke and Sienna’s story has been going on since the beginning of the series and has more meaning having followed their journey.

STAR RATING: I give this book 5 stars!

Save

five-stars

Review: Play of Passion

Review: Play of PassionPlay of Passion (Psy-Changeling, #9) by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy-Changeling #9
Published by Berkley on November 2nd 2010
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 356
Goodreads
four-stars

Changeling Romance Between Two Wolves

In a series that is most often about the romances between Psy, Changelings and humans, PLAY OF PASSION is a rare story between two changelings who are members of the same pack.

THE STORY: Indigo Riviere is the most dominant female wolf in the SnowDancer pack. She is a lieutenant in the hierarchy. Drew Kincaid is the pack’s hunter meaning that he is charged with tracking down and eliminating rogue wolves in the pack. The story begins where Drew has decided to pursue Indigo who he has been interested in for years. Drew has serious challenges, however, because Drew is four years younger than Indigo and she outranks him in the pack and she worries about having a relationship with a wolf who will begin to resent her dominant status. As for the overarching story, the Psy Council has fractured and the different groups are beginning to make moves to seize power which threatens the Psy, the changelings and the humans.

OPINION: I liked the romance in this story, but the attraction of this book for me was the fact that the overarching story regarding the Psy struggle with silence is reaching a critical point. Singh does a great job of creating relationships with strong, independent women and showing relationships where they do not become weak and dependant. This book shows the struggles that women face when having a relationship. I also liked the look into a more “typical” relationship between two wolves. The books of this series usually mix and match the three groups: Psy, changeling and human. I liked getting more information about the SnowDancer wolves who have been part of the series since the beginning and yet have been the more mysterious changeling group.

WORTH MENTIONING: There is a great scene in this book where some interesting people are in the same room together for the first time. The overarching story is reaching a critical point.

FINAL DECISION: I liked this book. The romance is interesting and I liked seeing old favorite characters. I especially am interested in the overarching story which has reached a critical point.

CONNECTED BOOKS: PLAY OF PASSION is the ninth book in the Psy Changeling series. While the romance is self-contained, there is an overarching story that reaches an important point in this book. New readers may be lost because there is no recap. Instead, new readers should start with SLAVE TO SENSATION which is a great book!

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

Save

four-stars