Review: Mr. Hunt, I Presume

I received this book for free from Netgalley in order to prepare an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Mr. Hunt, I PresumeMr. Hunt, I Presume (Playful Brides, #10.5) by Valerie Bowman
Series: Playful Brides #10.5
Published by June Third Enterprises, LLC on February 8, 2019
Genres: Historical
Pages: 110
Goodreads
four-stars

 

FINAL DECISION: This was an enjoyable little story where two people who were always meant to be together get a second chance at love. The length of the story means that the story isn’t as developed as I would want, but I found it a quick and amusing read.

THE STORY: General Collin Hunt is forced to take a holiday so he goes to visit his brother, the Duke of Claringdon. What he doesn’t expect is that his sister-in-law, a notorious and successful matchmaker, has targeted him. She has hired a new governess who happens to be the woman Collin once (and perhaps still) loves. Erienne Stone didn’t expect to be reunited with the man who abandoned her a decade before but one meddling duchess is determined to give these two a second chance.

OPINION: I enjoyed this little story. As a novella, the story is compressed and the characters are not as fleshed out as one would expect from a full length novel. Despite this, I enjoyed this story which contained a great amount of humor brought by Lucy who is a determined matchmaker. Readers will have to accept that much of the story is compressed. Erienne and Collin are in love when we meet them although they have been apart for over a decade. Despite this, however, I enjoyed the chance to see these two who want so desperately to be together manage to find ways to stumble apart. There is a definite sweetness to this story even as it has some over the top dramatic moments. Some might be annoyed by the drama, but I found it consistent with the humor of the series in general and this story in particular. Unfortunately, the length of the story means that much of the emotional drama between the characters is resolved too quickly, but this is a quick read that made me laugh in places and gave me the chance to see familiar characters from the Playful Brides series again.

WORTH MENTIONING: This story is almost more for fans of Lucy and Derek than those wanting a new story.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MR. HUNT, I PRESUME is book 10.5 in the Playful Brides series. This novella can be read as a standalone although Derek and Lucy from THE UNEXPECTED DUCHESS play significant roles in this story.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

 

four-stars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *