Review: Three Little Mistakes

Review: Three Little MistakesThree Little Mistakes (Blindfold Club, #3) by Nikki Sloane
Series: Blindfold Club #3
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on August 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 240
Goodreads
three-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: Enjoyable book with plenty of hot sex and little angst. There is a “secret” that Joseph keeps from “M” that causes problem and that was a bit of a thin plot.

THE STORY: Joseph Monsato, at thirty eight, is the owner of a club and sees a young woman who he believes is underage and thus a threat to his business. When the young woman is an unintended victim in a “bar fight” Joseph comes to her rescue. The woman won’t give him her name but instead insists on “M”. She isn’t underage but rather is twenty-three and agrees to have Joseph take her home. The chemistry between the two is intense. But “M” has secrets that might threaten Joseph in another way.

OPINION: I thought this book was interested because the relationship between Joseph and “M” is one where “M” is more powerful than in many of typical books of this type. Although she is younger, less experienced, and submissive, she is strong and makes her needs known. I really felt that this journey was mutual and Joseph has vulnerabilities as well which are developed as the book progresses.

The negative of this book for me was the secret keeping, which is okay in the plot but a bit annoying as the main conflict.

I enjoyed the book, but it is definitely an erotic romance and heavy on the sex which is an important part of the book.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book has a group sex scene.

CONNECTED BOOKS: THREE LITTLE MISTAKES is the third book in the Blindfold Club series. This book can be read as a standalone. I haven’t read the other books in the series and didn’t feel that I missed anything. Characters from prior books appear, but I got all the info I needed in this book to understand the relationships involved.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3.5 stars.

 

three-half-stars

Review: The Hostage Bargain

Review: The Hostage BargainThe Hostage Bargain (Taken Hostage by Hunky Bank Robbers, #1) by Annika Martin
Series: Taken Hostage by Kinky Bank Robbers #1
on April 29, 2012
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 170
Goodreads
four-half-stars

“We’re criminals, baby. Everything we do is inappropriate.”

FINAL DECISION: High energy, campy, and thoroughly entertaining read. The story setup is pretty silly, but the “anything goes” attitude of this book makes it a fun read with plenty of action and sex.

THE STORY: Melinda Prescott is working at a bank in order to save the family farm from the terrible man who holds the mortgage — and runs the bank. When three masked men come into the bank to rob it, Melinda is happy to help. Taken hostage by the men, Melinda ends up wanting to join the crew, but there are rules and some of them are sexy rules.

OPINION: I loved this book because it was completely bananas and embraced the craziness completely. There was definitely chemistry between the characters and I thought the twist of having Melinda come into the group where it complicates just about everything was good. There was nice tension and plenty of sexiness.

Yes, the premise of this book is over the top, but if a reader can just accept that and go with the story, it is hot and fun.

WORTH MENTIONING: This is a reverse harem story with three guys and one woman. All the interaction is MFM or MF.

CONNECTED BOOKS: THE HOSTAGE BARGAIN is the first book in the Taken Hostage by Kinky Bank Robbers series.  The series continues with the same group, but this story is complete if you want to start and stop here.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4.5 stars.

four-half-stars

Review: Misadventures with My Ex

Review: Misadventures with My ExMisadventures with My Ex (Misadventures, #18) by Shayla Black
Series: Misadventures #18
Published by Waterhouse Press on March 26, 2019
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 196
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: A second chance at love story with lots of sexy times, a manipulative prospective mother-in-law and two people who love one another even through years of being apart.

THE STORY: Three years ago, Eryn Hope fell hard for Weston Quaid but her heart was broken when he walked out on their wedding day. Three years later, he walks back into her life with a proposition: he will take care of the bills regarding her closed restaurant if she spends six weeks with him in Las Vegas. They have an agreement with different goals: Eryn wants to sex Weston out of her system so that she can finally forget him; Weston wants Eryn back.

OPINION: What didn’t work for me? I really never accepted the events that led to the breakup of Eryn and West three years ago. But that is the setup for the story so putting that aside, I really enjoyed this book.

There was a real sense of emotion between Eryn and West which is heightened by the alternating first person points of view allowing the reader to really trust in these two characters motivations even when the events seem to point to something else. A story that might be exploitative without understanding that West really loves Eryn and wants to get her to listen to and believe him ends up working and being sexy. I enjoy a good second chance story and these two characters have to get through their mistakes. They are both young (just in the mid 20s) when this book begins so the serious mistakes of three years ago makes a little more sense.

What really worked for me? The connection between these characters and their desperation for one another even amid all the mistakes of their past.

WORTH MENTIONING: I hope we get another book about Eryn’s sister Echo and her superhot best friend.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES WITH MY EX is the eighteenth book in the Misadventures series. This series, however, is by different authors and doesn’t have a common storyline or characters so they can generally be read as standalones. However, this book is connected with MISADVENTURES OF A BACKUP BRIDE which is the story of Eryn’s sister Ella. This book can be read as a standalone.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book from the author. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

 

four-stars

Review: Ensorcelled

Review: EnsorcelledEnsorcelled: In the Wizard's Lair (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle Book 9) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on December 27. 2018
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Pages: 72
Goodreads
three-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: These books get zanier with every installment. Just when I think the books can’t get any more outrageous, they do. This one isn’t as compelling as others in the series, but it sure is crazy-sauce fun.

THE STORY: Jane, who (she believes) has been rejected by her husband Zaren is in the hands of Lord Akenov who intends to have her memories and love for Zaren eliminated so that she will belong to Akenov alone. To do this, Akenov takes Jane to a sorcerer Belmar.

OPINION: I continue to read this series for the sheer fun and craziness of the story. There is also a romance in here, but honestly, I’m often more interested as to what crazy situation Jane will find herself in. This one was even more crazy than I expected. I think as the end of the series approaches, the strange sexual exploits increase. That being said, I continue to enjoy this serial.

I don’t want to spoil the weird events here, but I have to say that just when I say “the only thing missing is…” this book supplied the missing sexual exploit. This book is pure entertainment and doesn’t have a deeper meaning or significant character development. But it is like cotton candy, I just can’t get enough.

WORTH MENTIONING: The next book in the series apparently will be the last so this book previews the resolution.

CONNECTED BOOKS: ENSORCELLED is the ninth book in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle series. This is a serialized story where each book tells part of the adventure and ends on a cliffhanger. Therefore, the series is meant to be read in order.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3.5 stars.

three-half-stars

Review: Enchanted

Review: EnchantedEnchanted: A New Love (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle Book 8) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on April 26, 2018
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: An enjoyable entry in the series. This one has Jane and Zaren separated and engaged in their own activities. Another crazy set of circumstances, but the cliffhanger always leaves me wanting to read the next installment.

THE STORY: Jane has been renounced by her beloved Zaren and has now been taken by Lord Akenov who wants more than her body. He wants her to love only him. At the same time, Zaren is himself a captive as he wants to get back to his beloved wife who he was forced to pretend to renounce.

OPINION: In this entry in the series, things get even crazier for Jane and Zaren as the two are separated on go on their own erotic adventures. Jane finds herself with a man who is determined that she will give all of herself to him — even her heart. Zaren finds himself the slave of a woman who challenges his ideas of fidelity.

This entry feels likes a transition and while enjoyable as Jane and Zaren separately work out their love for one another, I kept waiting for something to happen and the cliffhanger brings things to a head.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book has non-consensual sex. Readers who are disturbed by this should stay away from this series.

CONNECTED BOOKS: ENCHANTED is the eighth book in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle series. This is a serialized story and thus each book ends on a cliffhanger and is connected to the prior books in the series. It is meant to be read in order.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

four-stars

Review: Enraptured

Review: EnrapturedEnraptured: The Renouncement (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle Book 7) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on January 30, 2017
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Goodreads
four-half-stars

ENRAPTURED: THE RENOUNCEMENT is the seventh novella in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle series. Each novella is a short episode in a continuing serial of the story. I began reading the novellas. They are at times silly and over the top, but I find them fascinating in an odd way. Jane has a lot of sex with a lot of people (while being in love with the Tarzan of the series). She is alternatively abused, forced and coerced into her sexual encounters which she enjoys. The series is definitely erotica and while there isn’t any deep story or character development, I really enjoy reading these novellas.

In this novella, Jane has been taken captive by the Amazon queen who has made Jane her sexual slave. As this novella starts, Jane’s love has located her and readers get to find out what happens (hint — the title itself is a spoiler).

This novella begins immediately after the previous novella’s end and ends on a cliffhanger. I recommend that readers begin with the first novella of the series.

four-half-stars

Review: Enslaved

Review: EnslavedEnslaved: Prisoner of the Amazon Queen (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle, #6) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on April 15, 2015
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Goodreads
three-stars

FINAL DECISION: Not one of my favorites in the series, after a short happy interlude, Jane is taken captive by an Amazon queen. The best thing is that it sets off the new arch in the story.

THE STORY: At the end of the prior installment, Jane and Zaren were reunited and things seem to be going well for them. This book picks up with the two going on their Honeymoon but someone is determined that they will not have a happy ending. Jane ends up being the concubine to an Amazon queen.

OPINION: Jane begins a new set of adventures as she is again separated from her love Zaren. Every time I think these books can’t get any crazier, they do. As I have mentioned before, these books are pure entertainment and not to be taken seriously. Indeed, I believe each books tries to be more outrageous than the last. But I enjoy Jane’s erotic adventures. This one is not as exciting as others in the series, but it sets up the next part of the series.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book as with all the others in the series ends on a cliffhanger. The books are meant to be read together. Also there is nonconsensual sex that Jane find enjoyable even as she doesn’t want to engage in it.

CONNECTED BOOKS: ENSLAVED is the sixth book in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle series. This a serialized story and thus each book is connected to the prior books in the series and should be read in order.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3 stars.

three-stars

Review: Enamored

Review: EnamoredEnamored: The Submissive Mistress (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle #5) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on May 16, 2014
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Pages: 160
Goodreads
five-stars

FINAL DECISION: My favorite of the series. This one is dark and double the length of the other books so we get development in the the whacked relationship between Jane and Kellan which began in the first book in the series. This book moves the story forward besides being filled with many and various sexual escapades.

THE STORY: Jane has returned to London with Kellan Darkdale who has the evidence to clear her father from murder. Kellan requires that Jane consent to be his submissive mistress in order to gain his cooperation.  Parted from her beloved Zaren, Jane hopes to find a way to free herself from Kellan’s clutches and return to Zaren.

OPINION: This is a crazy series. This is my favorite of the series because its expanded length allows the development of Jane’s crazy relationship with Kellan, Zaren’s development as a real character and some resolution to the threads of the series so far. This book, like the others, does end on a cliffhanger, but this book feels like the end of part one of the series.

This series is not for everyone. There is non-consensual sex and Jane enjoys those encounters.

This book is one of the darkest in the series and the most developed as Kellan and Jane have a relationship that has spanned several books in the series. Unlike the other encounters, this one feels more developed. I don’t expect great storylines and characters from this series but rather this is pure entertainment and erotic adventures.

WORTH MENTIONING: This series contains various sex acts, both consensual and non-consensual, with multiple people both men and women. Each book ends on a cliffhanger and therefore the series is meant to be read together.

CONNECTED BOOKS: ENAMORED is the fifth book in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle series. These are a series of serialized stories so they are meant to be read together and in order.

STAR RATING: I give this book 5 stars.

five-stars

Review: Enticed

Review: EnticedEnticed: An Erotic Sacrifice (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle, #4) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on May 16, 2014
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Pages: 70
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: This one is a bit repetitive of the previous book in the series, but I liked how Jane and Zaren begin to acknowledge their feelings for one another. This is pure entertainment and escapism and shouldn’t be taken seriously as it is just crazy stuff.

THE STORY: After an attempted escape, Jane and her wild jungle man Zaren are captured by the native villagers. Jane agrees to submit to the desires of the villagers in exchange for them helping the injured Zaren.

OPINION: In this book, Jane is used as a sex toy by various couples in the village. This is my least favorite in the series, but I did like the development of Jane and Zaren’s relationship. Jane is willing to sacrifice herself for Zaren and he will do the same for her.

Once again, these stories are really crazy sauce and can’t be examined in a serious fashion. If you are not willing to suspend disbelief, then this story will not work for you. It’s all crazy erotic sex with a romance story between Jane and Zaren — but lots of sex with other people, in various combinations, along the way.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book contains both consensual and non-consensual sex with both men and women. The story, like all in this series, ends on a cliffhanger.

CONNECTED BOOKS: ENTICED is the fourth book in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle. This is a serialized story so the books should be read in order.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

four-stars

Review: Enthralled

Review: EnthralledEnthralled: The Sex Goddess (The Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle, #3) by Colette Gale
Published by Avid Press on September 27, 2013
Genres: Erotica, Historical
Pages: 62
Goodreads
four-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: The sexcapades are increased here when Jane is taken hostage by a villages who sees her as a fertility goddess. Once again, this story contains consensual and non-consensual erotic encounters. I find Jane’s adventures entertaining and this one has more relationship building with Zaren.

THE STORY: Jane and her fiance are taken hostage by a native village who believe that Jane is a fertility goddess who can solve their reproduction problems. Her sexual prowess must be on public display. Zaren tries to find out what happened to Jane and to rescue her.

OPINION: Jane’s adventures continue in this book where she encounters an entire village of people who want to explore her sexuality. She has encounters here with men and women. This story is purely entertainment and is not really intended to be taken seriously. I mean she ends up having sex instead of escaping when given the opportunity! I find these stories entertaining and escapism. The entirety of the story is told tongue in cheek with crazier and more unrealistic episodes each time.

This one is notable because we get to see more of Zaren and get to see his commitment to Jane. Despite all Jane’s sexual exploits, there remains a connection between Zaren and Jane. Don’t read these books if you are going to examine them closely, you will be disappointed.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book contains non-consensual sexual encounters where Jane enjoys the experiences even as she does not consent to them. Each book in this series is short (60-70 pages) and ends on a cliffhanger as the story is told in serialized form.

CONNECTED BOOKS: ENTHRALLED is the third book in the Erotic Adventures of Jane in the Jungle series. This is a serialized story where every novella is connected and telling one story. Each book ends on a cliffhanger. The books are meant to be read together.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4.5 stars.

four-half-stars