Review: Misadventures of a Valedictorian

Review: Misadventures of a ValedictorianMisadventures of a Valedictorian by M.F. Wild, Mia Michelle
Series: Misadventures #7
Published by Waterhouse Press on November 14th 2017
Genres: Erotica
Pages: 300
Goodreads
five-stars

FINAL DECISION: This story is just crazy erotica with a simple, fun college experimentation storyline. I enjoyed this book so much because it isn’t trying to be a deep romance but just a fun set of erotic pieces.

THE STORY: Clare Winston spent years dreaming of the high school quarterback Eric Hayward. At the end of high school, the two finally have a connection but as the two go on to college, they both have growing and experimenting to do. Can the two keep their connection amidst all the adventures they are seeking to explore?

OPINION: This is just a fun erotic read. It’s not deep or thought provoking, but I enjoyed every page. This is the story of two young adults who get together at the end of high school and spend the first half of their freshman year in college experimenting sexually.

Clare starts out this book as a virgin but quickly starts getting experience. In fact, the book’s premise is that the hero is allowing her to have the freedom to experiment in college in the same way he did in high school.

I just enjoyed the fun encounters which seem like a series of vignettes of hot little sexual encounters. There is also a nice thread of caring between the hero and heroine. It takes the experimentation seriously and both characters experience jealousy and doubts. But this book never goes dark. Almost everything is kept light and in a easy.

This book takes the moniker misadventures seriously and I enjoyed it as a guilty pleasure.

WORTH MENTIONING: There is a lot of sex in this one — and the majority is not between the hero and heroine. There is mmf, mmmf, mff and various sexual encounters between the hero or heroine with other people.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES OF A VALEDICTORIAN is the seventh book in the Misadventures series. This series consists of complete standalone books that have no overlapping characters or settings.

STAR RATING: I give this book 5 stars.

five-stars

Review: Misadventures on the Night Shift

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures on the Night ShiftMisadventures on the Night Shift (Misadventures, #6) by Lauren Rowe
Series: Misadventures #6
Published by Waterhouse Press on November 7th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 280
Goodreads
two-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: This book was a disappointment. I really loved this book until we got to the conclusion. I just didn’t buy the resolution at all. Too fast, too much left unresolved and there needed to be something more for the book to work for me.

THE STORY: Abby Medford is working as a night clerk in a hotel when she thinks her teenage fantasies have come true. Rock star Lucas Ford checks into the penthouse and notices her. After a rough start, the two find erotic playtime together combined with an emotional connection for two people searching for meaning in their lives.

OPINION: I liked so much of this book that I was really let down by the ending. Abby and Lucas are a hot lusty pair and their interactions range from intense fighting to emotional connection. I thought the connection between them was strong and I really enjoyed the heat in this book.

Abby is a woman who likes the bad boys but is trying to be good and build a life — even if it isn’t the one she actually wants. She works hard and goes to school but can’t get excited by a future that might be outwardly successful but doesn’t call to her.

Lucas is a rockstar who just doesn’t have the passion for what he does any more.

When the two meet, they bring something exciting and hopeful to one another. I loved that part of the story.

Ultimately, however, this book just didn’t work for me as a romance. I didn’t buy the resolution of the story between the hero and heroine. Too fast, too many complications, too much time apart and too many people involved. The resolution seemed more like an accident that might change in time rather than a happy ending.

WORTH MENTIONING: Warning for those who don’t like their hero and heroine having sex with other people after their supposed life changing “connection.” There is a also a menage scene.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES ON THE NIGHT SHIFT is the sixth book in the Misadventures series, but each book is a complete standalone with no overlapping storyline, characters or content.

STAR RATING: I give this book 2.5 stars.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

two-half-stars

Review: American King

Review: American KingAmerican King (New Camelot Trilogy, #3) by Sierra Simone
Series: New Camelot Trilogy #3
Published by Amazon Digital Services on October 31st 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 456
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: I love the characters in this book and the crazy stuff that gets worked out, but honestly, I felt the series went down since the first book in the series. The ending was too contrived and completely without any possibility of reality that I felt a letdown for the entire series.

THE STORY: This book continues the story of Ash, Embry and Greer. As the book begins, Embry has broken from the trio as he has unwillingly impregnated Greer’s evil cousin and has decided that Ash is not doing enough to protect Greer. Embry intends to run against Ash for president. This book, as might be expected, focuses on Ash’s view of the events.

OPINION:  There was so much I loved about this book, but the ending was not among them. There is something really crazy and beautiful about this series just going for the most salacious romance — the President, Vice-President and the First Lady. There are so many mixes and measures that I couldn’t wait to see what incredible plot twist was next. The whole thing just felt so unreal and big. Using the mythology of King Arthur as the basis for the story allows this story to have its own mythic quality. Yes, the story is unreal on almost every page, but I loved that the spirit of the story embraced all the crazy plot twists that felt like a modern erotic soap opera. This book begins to unwind all the plots that were introduced in the first two books. Mostly, I enjoyed the possibilities. I also have always liked how this book uses love and passion and lust and jealousy and guilt in bigger than life ways.

But the ending just disappointed me. Too small, too neat, too implausible.  I expected everything to be blown wide open, but instead, the book ends in secrets and hiding. I just felt disappointed and once that happened, all the veneers of big drama just fell apart. Instead, I just kept asking questions about how things would actually work in reality and the entirety of the relationships just fell apart for me. Perhaps one day I will re-read this crazy adventure and see it differently, but I was sad that today I couldn’t walk away excited about the entire journey.

WORTH MENTIONING: I recommend this series because I think that people’s reaction to the ending will be personal and doesn’t diminish the wonderful crazy series.

CONNECTED BOOKS: AMERICAN KING is the third and final book in the New Camelot Trilogy. These books are meant to be read together in order.

STAR RATING I give this book 4 stars.

four-stars

Review: American Prince

Review: American PrinceAmerican Prince (New Camelot Trilogy, #2) by Sierra Simone
Series: New Camelot Trilogy #2
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform on March 7th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 330
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: Still super crazy and compelling, I thought this one suffered from the “middle book” syndrome where too much is being set up for the ending and thus while really good, it’s wasn’t quite as compelling as the first book.

THE STORY: This book begins where AMERICAN QUEEN ended. After the marriage of the President Ash to his wife Greer and the formalization of their menage relationship with Vice President Embry, Greer has been kidnapped. The remainder of the book is about the continuing threats the three face both from external factors, but also from the jealousies, fears, and history which threatens to tear them apart.

OPINION: This book is filled with drama and angst and so many unfinished issues that it was painful to read at parts. The book is clearly setting up the final book in the series and as such, it doesn’t read as well as a separate story. There is a real sense that this is one of the low points in the relationship as this book ends. That is expected and I suspect that once the final book is out this book will blend in perfectly. But it certainly leaves things in a bad spot that is hard to enjoy.

This story is so big and crazy and I am just compelled to read it. The relationship between these three characters is not restrained by any means. There are deep jealousies and anger and lust and love. Despite the love between these three characters, their relationship is not easy. There are past pains and deceit and fears between these characters. They are struggling not only against those issues but those who want to destroy them.

This book, as one might guess from the title, focuses primarily on Embry’s point of view (although not exclusively) and his past with Ash. We learn more about the love and pain that is part of the history of their relationship.

One of the best parts of this book is how seriously it takes the relationship between Ash, Greer and Embry. One might expect that if two people in a relationship is complicated, those issues are multiplied with the addition of one person. This book doesn’t shy away from those issues which makes this book compelling as to their interactions.

Now I just need to read what is going to happen with Ash’s book.

WORTH MENTIONING: This book ends on a cliffhanger.

CONNECTED BOOKS: AMERICAN PRINCE is the second book in the New Camelot Trilogy. This book continues from the cliffhanger in the first book and the books should be read together in order. The series follows the menage relationship between The President, Vice-President and the President’s wife.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4.5 stars.

four-stars

Review: Misadventures with a Super Hero

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures with a Super HeroMisadventures with a Super Hero (Misadventures, #3) by Angel Payne
Series: Misadventures #3
Published by Waterhouse Press on October 10th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Paranormal
Goodreads
three-stars

FINAL DECISION: Great premise. uneven execution. Parts of this story I really enjoyed, but parts were a bit confusing and uneven. Overall, I enjoyed the story because it was a fun ride.

THE STORY: Emmalina Crist needs her job working at a hotel because she is trying to make something of herself. Her new boss, Reece Richards, is a longtime playboy, and Emma knows that he is bad news, but can’t resist him anyway. But Emma is also intrigued by Bolt, LA’s newest superhero. Of course, Reece is actually Bolt and he has issues because he was given “super powers” against his will. The two have to navigate Reece finding out who and what he is.

OPINION: I really liked the premise of this story and it is really hot with Emma and Reece circling around one another in various locations in his hotel. I liked the characters and I really believed Reece’s improving his life because of his “changes”. I thought parts of the story were really funny and really sweet. This story is really an erotic journey as for the relationship between Emma and Reece (lots of insta-love/lust) with some superhero danger tossed in.

I did think that the writing was a bit uneven at times and the alternating points of view meant some confusion in the voice of the story. (There were not enough differences in the voices of the two characters to justify the different points of view).

This was a fun story and I would love to read more about these characters, but I think that a reader has to make a commitment to the story to really enjoy it.

WORTH MENTIONING: This is a novella that is told in alternating points of view.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  MISADVENTURES WITH A SUPER HERO is the third book in the Misadventures series. This series, however, are completely separate standalone books with no connections at all.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

three-stars

Review: Misadventures of a Good Wife

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of a Good WifeMisadventures of a Good Wife (Misadventures, #2) by Helen Hardt, Meredith Wild
Series: Misadventures #2
Published by Waterhouse Press on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Goodreads
two-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: This story had promise, but I got tired of the secrecy of this story and just when things seemed to be moving story wise, the characters would engage in sex and stall the story. Not as exciting as I would have liked.

THE STORY: A year ago, Kate was devastated when the love of her life died in a plane crash. On a beach, a man approaches her and Kate is shocked to see her dead husband Price. Price tells Kate that he has been in hiding for a year and she has a choice, come with him without questions or they will part forever.

OPINION:  I thought this book was uneven. Parts of it I really enjoyed, but parts were difficult for me to get through because I got bored and distracted. I thought the book had a good premise and I was intrigued by how these two married people would find one another again.

My first problem with the story was that there was too much sex that interrupted the story. I don’t have a problem with an erotica story where the characters develop their relationship through their sexual encounters, but I kept thinking as the story went on that just when the story seemed to be moving, there was a sex scene.

The other problem was that there was never really any issue with Kate and Price being together emotionally. That made the relationship part flat for me. As a result, the first problem was even more glaring.

Despite that, I enjoyed parts of this book. I wanted to know what would happen and I like the characters as people and I wanted to see them have a happy ending. That was satisfied.

WORTH MENTIONING: This story is an attempt at an erotic romantic suspense, but isn’t entirely successful.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  This book is the second in the Misadventures series. This series, however, is a series of standalone books where there is no crossover or connections other than the hot and spicy nature of the stories.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 2.5 stars.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

two-half-stars

Review: Theirs to Take

Review: Theirs to TakeTheirs to Take (Blasphemy, #3) by Laura Kaye
Series: Blasphemy #3
on September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 170
Goodreads
three-stars

FINAL DECISION: I generally liked the book, but the instant love/lust with Hartley wasn’t as good as the relationship between Jonathan and Cruz which I wish we had more exploration of. The story is hot, but I missed the centrality of Blasphemy.

THE STORY: Hartley Farren is in desperate need of some help when a hurricane damages her boat. She happens to meet Jonathan Allen who with his partner Cruz Ramos offer to do the repairs. Jonathan and Cruz are two of the co-owner of the sex club Blasphemy and they enjoy engaging in menage relationships. The two try to figure out if Hartley might be a good third, but are also struggling with changes in their relationship as the attraction between them grows.

OPINION: The story was enjoyable but not particularly deep as the length of the book, the complication of the menage and the introduction of a character in a crossover story all took up space.

The story is really hot and I enjoyed how the erotic relationship between these three develops. My complaint is that I wish there were more pages to delve into the complications of Cruz and Jonathan’s relationship and some differentiation between Hartley’s relationship with Cruz and Jonathan. What does each offer to her?

That being said, I thought the highlight of this book was the relationship between Cruz and Jonathan. (So many menage books ignore the m/m part of the relationship). I also liked how these three navigate their new relationship. The sex was hot and emotional as the three figure out what works for them.

This is a good addition to the Blasphemy series (even though the club itself is only a side location in this book).

WORTH MENTIONING: This book has a crossover with REVEAL ME by Jennifer Probst.

CONNECTED BOOKS: THEIRS TO TAKE is the third book in the Blasphemy series. This book can be read as a standalone.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3 stars.

three-stars

Review: Misadventures of a City Girl

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of a City GirlMisadventures of a City Girl (Misadventures, #1) by Chelle Bliss, Meredith Wild
Series: Misadventures #1
Published by Waterhouse Press on September 12th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Goodreads
three-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: A fun and very sexy novella about two people who come from different worlds being challenged out of their comfort zone.

THE STORY: Madison Atwood, newly divorced needs a break from her high paced entertainment world in Los Angeles which is too connected with the star ex-husband. While at a “retreat”, Madison is caught in a personal moment by Luke Dawson. Luke is a “mountain man” who lives alone. His tours in combat as a Navy Seal have left Luke with PTSD and he doesnt’ want to be around people. From the first moment, however, Madison and Luke have a high voltage connection and soon find themselves caught in a snow storm and caught up in a hot affair. The question is there any future for a woman who loves the city and a man who cannot bear to live there.

OPINION: This was a nice break book.  A story which I might not put on my keeper shelf but one that was engaging and entertaining while I read it. It starts from a city mouse/country mouse scenario and demonstrates how to people can compromise and find common ground if they are committed to one another and love one another enough.

These characters start with a hot sexual encounter and they essentially end up with a choice — work to build a bridge between them or leave their relationship as a shallow sexual tension reliever.

I liked these characters who are good and decent people living with the consequences of loving and hurting and living. The story isn’t particularly deep and the characters are not very complex, but I really enjoyed the story which reminded me of the feel good category romances, but with a lot more heat.

WORTH MENTIONING:  This book is really focused on the relationship through the sexual encounters of the main characters so be prepared for a lot of sex.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  MISADVENTURES OF A CITY GIRL is the first in a series of novellas that are only connected by the “misadventures”. So far I don’t see any overlapping characters or places.

STAR RATING:  I give this novella 3.5 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

three-half-stars

Review: Misconduct

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: MisconductMisconduct (Birmingham Rebels, #4) by Samantha Kane
Series: Birmingham Rebels #4
Published by Loveswept on July 25th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 288
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION:  This was an enjoyable story and one that was well balanced in the relationship between the three characters.  Both the connection between them in pairs and as a menage worked here.

THE STORY:  Running back Tom Kelly wants a committed three way relationship (and there are several in the Birmingham Rebels organization). Carmina de la Cruz is the woman Tom would like to have as part of the relationship.  Carmina is an Army vet trying to recover from a tour in Afghanistan that resulted in a traumatic brain injury. Tom’s interest helps Carmina feel desired again, but she also has an interest in Tom’s teammate and friend Danny Smith.  Danny knows that the Rebels have a certain reputation, but he has no interest in pursuing a threesome relationship after being burned before.  But Tom and Carmina are awfully tempting.

OPINION:  This was an interesting story and not just an erotic sex fest.  Tom, Carmina and Danny are three different people — each with a different issue to work out.  Of the three, Tom is the one who is the most well adjusted and is the hinge that makes the relationship work.  He is the youngest of the three and has just discovered his bisexuality and has been enjoying exploring his sexuality.

Danny is a man who has been haunted by his actions in relation to his friend and allowing his own career to take precedence over an attempted sexual assault upon her. He believes himself unworthy of happiness and thinks about revenge instead. He is also a man who is struggling against his potential bisexuality.  He has a darker past and struggles more against the menage relationship.

Carmina is a strong woman who is struggling against both her physical and emotional injuries. Her inability to find sexual satisfaction after her accident is part of the catalyst for the relationship.

I liked how these three work through their issues and also need to figure out if and how a relationship can work between them. It’s nice that they don’t take it for granted that things will work out between them.  There are also issues of jealousy and uncertainty that are raised which seem natural.

I also really enjoyed that this book came full circle from the first in the series by resolving the lingering issues and helping close Danny’s issues surrounding the events. I’m not sure whether there will be other books in the series, but this book could be a nice concluding story.

WORTH MENTIONING:  This is a menage story featuring three people working toward a long term relationship.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  MISCONDUCT is the fourth book in the Birmingham Rebels series.  This book can be read as a standalone but it is connected with BROKEN PLAY and tells a connecting story to the heroine’s past there.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review.  I was not required to write a review or write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

four-stars

Review: Glamour

Review: GlamourGlamour: Contemporary Fairytale Retellings by A.L. Jackson, Aleatha Romig, Lili St. Germain, Nicola Rendell, Nora Flite, Sierra Simone, Skye Warren, Sophie Jordan
Series: Masterpiece Duet #1.5, Consequences #5.5,
on July 18th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Fantasy
Pages: 331
Goodreads
four-half-stars

This is an anthology of eight romance stories each based upon a fairy tale.  This is an excellent anthology.  Each of the stories is good and many of them were fascinating enough for me to read more of the author.  Highly recommend this if you are looking for hot and well written novellas.

MUSIC BOX GIRL by Sierra Simone (Twelve Dancing Princesses): An erotic story which involves a 39 year old private investigator who gets involved with the 19 year old subject of his surveillance. This is a super hot, super erotic fantasy story which means that one has to suspend disbelief. The story is hot and there is one orgy depicted and others suggested. I enjoyed the story but the story was more about the hot sexual situations than the characters. I wish there was more of this story because I think the characters could have been really been interesting with pages to flesh them out. Rating: 4 stars.

BEDTIME STORY by Skye Warren (Sleeping Beauty): This novella is apparently connected to THE KING (which I haven’t read).  Jessica who has a small child is on the run from a dangerous man.  She runs into Finn, who is sheriff in a small town. The novella depicts their encounter which is filled with tension both dangerous and sexual. The story ends up being a sweet one and this is a novella that I really liked but wished that there was much more to the story.  It did make me want to read more by this author.  Rating: 4.5 stars.

RIPPLES by Aleatha Romig (Prince and the Pauper): Natalie struggles against the expectations of her parents.  When she travels to visit them for Christmas an encounter with a stranger on the plane changes her life.  I don’t want to give too much away, but this is a spin-off of the Consequences series so readers of that series will know to expect a dark and twisted romance.  I was fascinated with the story but didn’t quite get it in the end.  I think it would have been better if I knew about the heroine’s parents’ story.  Rating: 4 stars.

ROYAL MATTRESS by Nicola Rendell (Princess and the Pea): Dave is a mattress millionaire who also happens to be a prince in a defunct country.  He also has terrible luck in love although he is looking for that magical connection with a woman.  On the night of an amazing storm, Lisa arrives at Dave’s home seeking shelter.  From the moment they meet, the connection between Lisa and Dave just sizzles. Although the length of this novella means that everything between these two happens almost instantly, I really liked Dave and Lisa and their connection.  Rating: 4.5 stars

IN A STRANGER’S BED by Sophie Jordan (Goldilocks): Thea is left behind in the Highlands of Scotland by her tour group.  Caught in a rainstorm, Thea finds a house which is lived in but the occupant is absent.  (It’s a Goldilocks story, you can guess what happens from there).  Thea ends up being found by a grumpy Scotsman Niall.  This story I really enjoyed.  Yes, there is insta-love, but the two are so sweet together along with some arguing and oh-so-sexy times.  I really appreciated the epilogue of this story because it gave the story a finished quality.  Rating: 4.5 stars.

BROKEN HARP by Nora Flite (Jack and the Beanstalk): As a young man, Jack is swindled by a club owner and almost killed.  Years later he is now back to get his revenge.  He meets again the woman who saved his life who is working as a stripper and raising her sister. This story is dark and exists in a seedy existence, but I really liked the characters and this was a very enjoyable story.  Rating 4 stars.

RED HOT PURSUIT by AL Jackson (Little Red Riding Hood):  Lili Redd is engaged in protecting her adopted grandmother from the Big Bad Wolf aka Brody Wolfe.  Brody, a real estate developer, wants to purchase the shop and Lili, as an attorney, is determined to do whatever she has to do in order to stop him.  Things heat up as the two correspond and when they meet, the temperature rises even higher.  I absolutely loved this story.  The characters were strong and independent and their conflict was hot, hot, hot.  I loved their conflict and banter as the two struggle with their business conflict and their personal attraction.  This is a prequel novella and introduction to the upcoming Fight for Me series.  I will definitely be checking that out.  My favorite of the anthology.  Rating: 5 stars.

KNOT by Lili St. Germain (Rapunzel):  A woman is kept captive in a tower by a Mexican crime lord before a mafia doctor comes to save her life and rescue her.  This is one dark story on so many levels.  I was creeped out by Seraphina’s Stockholm Syndrome attachment to her jailer and rapist, even as I understood her dependence upon him.  I liked that the story didn’t flinch from that complexity.  I also liked that the characters had an incredible amount of complexity in such a short novella.  I saw at the end of the story that there might be more of Seraphina and Xavier in the future and I would definitely read more.  Rating: 4.5 stars.

four-half-stars