Review: Misadventures of a Virgin

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of a VirginMisadventures of a Virgin (Misadventures, #14) by Meredith Wild
Series: Misadventures #14
Published by Waterhouse Press, LLC on November 21st 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: I really enjoyed this second chance at love story. The story is sweet and its depth reflects its short length, but I liked the characters and found the story interesting.

THE STORY: June Bell has spent her life helping her father in his hotel. His plans to expand in the small town have been stymied by the McCasker family with whom June’s father has had a feud with for years. Now Kase McCasker has returned to town. Four years ago he left after a scorching kiss between June and Kase and the revelation of a secret that sent Kase’s world spinning. Kase has returned and June might be the only reason that Kase is willing to consider her father’s deal.

OPINION: This was an enjoyable and easy to read story. I thought that the connection between these two was good and there was some drama as to what Kase’s motives are. I liked the progress of the story and there was enough plot twists to keep the story interesting. The connection between Kase and June pre-exists the beginning of this story so this is really about these two rediscovering one another.  There is a sweetness to the story combined with some real heat in the sexual encounters. That combination makes a good story. This book is one of my favorites in the series so far.

WORTH MENTIONING: This is a short novella.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES OF A VIRGIN is the fourteenth book in the Misadventures series. The series books are complete standalones with no overlapping characters or places.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

four-stars

Review: Misadventures of a Valedictorian

Review: Misadventures of a ValedictorianMisadventures of a Valedictorian by M.F. Wild, Mia Michelle
Series: Misadventures #7
Published by Waterhouse Press on November 14th 2017
Genres: Erotica
Pages: 300
Goodreads
five-stars

FINAL DECISION: This story is just crazy erotica with a simple, fun college experimentation storyline. I enjoyed this book so much because it isn’t trying to be a deep romance but just a fun set of erotic pieces.

THE STORY: Clare Winston spent years dreaming of the high school quarterback Eric Hayward. At the end of high school, the two finally have a connection but as the two go on to college, they both have growing and experimenting to do. Can the two keep their connection amidst all the adventures they are seeking to explore?

OPINION: This is just a fun erotic read. It’s not deep or thought provoking, but I enjoyed every page. This is the story of two young adults who get together at the end of high school and spend the first half of their freshman year in college experimenting sexually.

Clare starts out this book as a virgin but quickly starts getting experience. In fact, the book’s premise is that the hero is allowing her to have the freedom to experiment in college in the same way he did in high school.

I just enjoyed the fun encounters which seem like a series of vignettes of hot little sexual encounters. There is also a nice thread of caring between the hero and heroine. It takes the experimentation seriously and both characters experience jealousy and doubts. But this book never goes dark. Almost everything is kept light and in a easy.

This book takes the moniker misadventures seriously and I enjoyed it as a guilty pleasure.

WORTH MENTIONING: There is a lot of sex in this one — and the majority is not between the hero and heroine. There is mmf, mmmf, mff and various sexual encounters between the hero or heroine with other people.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES OF A VALEDICTORIAN is the seventh book in the Misadventures series. This series consists of complete standalone books that have no overlapping characters or settings.

STAR RATING: I give this book 5 stars.

five-stars

Review: Misadventures on the Night Shift

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures on the Night ShiftMisadventures on the Night Shift (Misadventures, #6) by Lauren Rowe
Series: Misadventures #6
Published by Waterhouse Press on November 7th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Pages: 280
Goodreads
two-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: This book was a disappointment. I really loved this book until we got to the conclusion. I just didn’t buy the resolution at all. Too fast, too much left unresolved and there needed to be something more for the book to work for me.

THE STORY: Abby Medford is working as a night clerk in a hotel when she thinks her teenage fantasies have come true. Rock star Lucas Ford checks into the penthouse and notices her. After a rough start, the two find erotic playtime together combined with an emotional connection for two people searching for meaning in their lives.

OPINION: I liked so much of this book that I was really let down by the ending. Abby and Lucas are a hot lusty pair and their interactions range from intense fighting to emotional connection. I thought the connection between them was strong and I really enjoyed the heat in this book.

Abby is a woman who likes the bad boys but is trying to be good and build a life — even if it isn’t the one she actually wants. She works hard and goes to school but can’t get excited by a future that might be outwardly successful but doesn’t call to her.

Lucas is a rockstar who just doesn’t have the passion for what he does any more.

When the two meet, they bring something exciting and hopeful to one another. I loved that part of the story.

Ultimately, however, this book just didn’t work for me as a romance. I didn’t buy the resolution of the story between the hero and heroine. Too fast, too many complications, too much time apart and too many people involved. The resolution seemed more like an accident that might change in time rather than a happy ending.

WORTH MENTIONING: Warning for those who don’t like their hero and heroine having sex with other people after their supposed life changing “connection.” There is a also a menage scene.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES ON THE NIGHT SHIFT is the sixth book in the Misadventures series, but each book is a complete standalone with no overlapping storyline, characters or content.

STAR RATING: I give this book 2.5 stars.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

two-half-stars

Review: Misadventures of the First Daughter

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of the First DaughterMisadventures of the First Daughter (Misadventures, #5) by Meredith Wild, Mia Michelle
Series: Misadventures #5
Published by Waterhouse Press on October 30th 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Pages: 280
Goodreads
three-stars

FINAL DECISION: I liked the story between Charlotte and Zane, but really did not like the surrounding storyline. Charlotte’s parents are abusive and I don’t like how she is when she is around them. That annoyance was too much for me to overcome so I liked the book but didn’t love it.

THE STORY: Charlotte Daley is the wild daughter of the newly elected President. Her parents either ignore her completely or treat her as a doll that they can manipulate as they will. Charlotte is determined to express her freedom in any way that she can. Zane Parker’s job is protecting Charlotte, but when things heat up between them, he makes a deal with Charlotte. He will dominate her completely if she behaves while she is in Washington.

OPINION: Charlotte is a woman who is acting like a spoiled child. Her parents are complete jerks, but I really never believed that Charlotte had to kowtow to their demands. That made me think less of her. Much of the drama of the story is about Charlotte’s parents manipulating her life. Because the resolution seemed obvious to me for the entire story, I just didn’t get why we had to accept all the drama.

Zane and Charlotte are hot together and I liked how he controls her wayward tendencies. I just wish there was more about them and less of the drama with Charlotte’s parents. There just wasn’t enough to overcome my dislike for the parents and the plot. I liked the characters and the story was good, but just not great.

WORTH MENTIONING: There was a secondary romance that I wish had been more developed.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES OF THE FIRST DAUGHTER is the fifth book in the Misadventures series. This series is composed of complete standalone stories so each can be read on its own.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to prepare a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

three-stars

Review: Misadventures of a Backup Bride

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of a Backup BrideMisadventures of a Backup Bride (Misadventures, #4) by Shayla Black
Series: Misadventures #4
Published by Waterhouse Press on October 17th 2017
Genres: Contemporary
Goodreads
four-stars

FINAL DECISION: This story had an interesting premise and I enjoyed the intrigue of the characters competing against the “villain” dad. A reader who can accept insta-love stories can enjoy this one.

THE STORY: Carson Frost inherits a company from his biological father that is in financial trouble. In seeking a loan, he turns in desperation to the company’s rival. The rival agrees to a loan on the condition that Carson marry his daughter.  Two weeks before the wedding, Carson recognizes that this is going to be a disaster and tries to get out of the wedding by making up another woman who he is love with. The father calls his bluff and demands that Carson produce the woman. Carson can only think of one possible woman to call — Ella Hope, and actress who he met six months ago when she dated one of his friends. Ella agrees to take the job, but the passion explodes between the two when they meet again in person. When the father meets Ella, he agrees that Carson doesn’t have to marry his daughter — but only if Carson and Ella marry in two weeks.

OPINION: This short novel sets up an interesting conflict. What happens when the woman hired to pretend to be the love of a man’s life becomes the love of his life? I enjoyed this story and the characters. This is my favorite of the series because the characters are well drawn even in the short space allowed for them in this story. Plus, there is a tremendous amount of conflict. It’s also really interesting that there are no terrible “evil” characters in the end. Plus, the story is really sexy. What I didn’t expect was the turn towards a more traditional and emotional romance story towards the end. I thought the twist on the events of a romance story worked really well here.

WORTH MENTIONING: Much of the relationship development between Carson and Ella takes place around of during sexual escapades because of the nature of the book.

CONNECTED BOOKS: MISADVENTURES OF A BACKUP BRIDE is the fourth book in the Misadventures series. The books in the series are all standalone stories without any connections or overlapping characters.

STAR RATING: I give this book 4 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

four-stars

Review: Misadventures with a Super Hero

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures with a Super HeroMisadventures with a Super Hero (Misadventures, #3) by Angel Payne
Series: Misadventures #3
Published by Waterhouse Press on October 10th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica, Paranormal
Goodreads
three-stars

FINAL DECISION: Great premise. uneven execution. Parts of this story I really enjoyed, but parts were a bit confusing and uneven. Overall, I enjoyed the story because it was a fun ride.

THE STORY: Emmalina Crist needs her job working at a hotel because she is trying to make something of herself. Her new boss, Reece Richards, is a longtime playboy, and Emma knows that he is bad news, but can’t resist him anyway. But Emma is also intrigued by Bolt, LA’s newest superhero. Of course, Reece is actually Bolt and he has issues because he was given “super powers” against his will. The two have to navigate Reece finding out who and what he is.

OPINION: I really liked the premise of this story and it is really hot with Emma and Reece circling around one another in various locations in his hotel. I liked the characters and I really believed Reece’s improving his life because of his “changes”. I thought parts of the story were really funny and really sweet. This story is really an erotic journey as for the relationship between Emma and Reece (lots of insta-love/lust) with some superhero danger tossed in.

I did think that the writing was a bit uneven at times and the alternating points of view meant some confusion in the voice of the story. (There were not enough differences in the voices of the two characters to justify the different points of view).

This was a fun story and I would love to read more about these characters, but I think that a reader has to make a commitment to the story to really enjoy it.

WORTH MENTIONING: This is a novella that is told in alternating points of view.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  MISADVENTURES WITH A SUPER HERO is the third book in the Misadventures series. This series, however, are completely separate standalone books with no connections at all.

STAR RATING: I give this book 3 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

three-stars

Review: Misadventures of a Good Wife

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of a Good WifeMisadventures of a Good Wife (Misadventures, #2) by Helen Hardt, Meredith Wild
Series: Misadventures #2
Published by Waterhouse Press on October 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Goodreads
two-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: This story had promise, but I got tired of the secrecy of this story and just when things seemed to be moving story wise, the characters would engage in sex and stall the story. Not as exciting as I would have liked.

THE STORY: A year ago, Kate was devastated when the love of her life died in a plane crash. On a beach, a man approaches her and Kate is shocked to see her dead husband Price. Price tells Kate that he has been in hiding for a year and she has a choice, come with him without questions or they will part forever.

OPINION:  I thought this book was uneven. Parts of it I really enjoyed, but parts were difficult for me to get through because I got bored and distracted. I thought the book had a good premise and I was intrigued by how these two married people would find one another again.

My first problem with the story was that there was too much sex that interrupted the story. I don’t have a problem with an erotica story where the characters develop their relationship through their sexual encounters, but I kept thinking as the story went on that just when the story seemed to be moving, there was a sex scene.

The other problem was that there was never really any issue with Kate and Price being together emotionally. That made the relationship part flat for me. As a result, the first problem was even more glaring.

Despite that, I enjoyed parts of this book. I wanted to know what would happen and I like the characters as people and I wanted to see them have a happy ending. That was satisfied.

WORTH MENTIONING: This story is an attempt at an erotic romantic suspense, but isn’t entirely successful.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  This book is the second in the Misadventures series. This series, however, is a series of standalone books where there is no crossover or connections other than the hot and spicy nature of the stories.

STAR RATING:  I give this book 2.5 stars.

NOTE:  I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or to write a positive review.  All opinions contained herein are my own.

two-half-stars

Review: Misadventures of a City Girl

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review: Misadventures of a City GirlMisadventures of a City Girl (Misadventures, #1) by Chelle Bliss, Meredith Wild
Series: Misadventures #1
Published by Waterhouse Press on September 12th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Goodreads
three-half-stars

FINAL DECISION: A fun and very sexy novella about two people who come from different worlds being challenged out of their comfort zone.

THE STORY: Madison Atwood, newly divorced needs a break from her high paced entertainment world in Los Angeles which is too connected with the star ex-husband. While at a “retreat”, Madison is caught in a personal moment by Luke Dawson. Luke is a “mountain man” who lives alone. His tours in combat as a Navy Seal have left Luke with PTSD and he doesnt’ want to be around people. From the first moment, however, Madison and Luke have a high voltage connection and soon find themselves caught in a snow storm and caught up in a hot affair. The question is there any future for a woman who loves the city and a man who cannot bear to live there.

OPINION: This was a nice break book.  A story which I might not put on my keeper shelf but one that was engaging and entertaining while I read it. It starts from a city mouse/country mouse scenario and demonstrates how to people can compromise and find common ground if they are committed to one another and love one another enough.

These characters start with a hot sexual encounter and they essentially end up with a choice — work to build a bridge between them or leave their relationship as a shallow sexual tension reliever.

I liked these characters who are good and decent people living with the consequences of loving and hurting and living. The story isn’t particularly deep and the characters are not very complex, but I really enjoyed the story which reminded me of the feel good category romances, but with a lot more heat.

WORTH MENTIONING:  This book is really focused on the relationship through the sexual encounters of the main characters so be prepared for a lot of sex.

CONNECTED BOOKS:  MISADVENTURES OF A CITY GIRL is the first in a series of novellas that are only connected by the “misadventures”. So far I don’t see any overlapping characters or places.

STAR RATING:  I give this novella 3.5 stars.

NOTE: I received an ARC of this book via Netgalley in order to provide a review. I was not required to write a review or write a positive review. All opinions contained herein are my own.

three-half-stars